Constitution and By-Laws

Executive Board


President:  Nahla Bassil
1st Vice-President:  Ksenija Gasic
2nd Vice-President: Patrick Conner
Past President: Marvin Pritts
Secretary: Todd Einhorn
Treasurer:  Ed Hellman
Resident Agent:  Wes Autio (Massachusetts)
Editor of The Journal of the American Pomological Society:  Rich Marini
At Large Members:

  • Amaya Atucha (2018-2021)
  • Tom Kon (2019-2022)
  • Mercy Olmstead (2020-2023)

Advisory Committee


  • Brent Black (Utah State University, Logan, UT)
  • Gina Fernandez (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC)
  • David Karp (UC Riverside, Riverside, CA)
  • Ioannis Minas (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO)
  • Sara Serra (Washington State University, Wenatchee, WA)


  • Dario Chavez (University of Georgia, Griffin, GA)
  • Greg Lang (Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI)
  • Savithri Nambeesan (University of Georgia, Athens, GA)
  • Tripti Vashisth (University of Florida, Lake Alfred, FL)
  • Dwight Wolfe (University of Kentucky, Princeton, KY)


  • Jill Bushakra (USDA-ARS, Corvallis, OR)
  • Essie Fallahi (University of Idaho, Parma, ID)
  • Megan Muehlbauer (Rutgers University Extension, Flemington, NJ)
  • Mike Parker (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC)
  • Shengrui Yao (New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM)

Chairs of Standing Committees

Editorial Board   Shepard Award   Membership
Penny Perkins-Veazie   Fumi Takeda   Kirk Pomper
Wilder Medal Awards   Nominations   U.P. Hedrick Award
Brent Black   Michele Warmund   Essie Fallahi
Registration of Fruit and Nut Cultivars   Website Chair    
Ksenija Gasic and John Preece   Mercy Olmstead    


Resolutions for Member Consideration and Voting at the 2020 Annual Meeting

1.    Adoption of an official logo

a.    Be it resolved that the members of APS adopt said logo for the official business of the Society

2.    Establish the Chad Finn Ambassadorship Award 

a. Be it resolved that the Society establish the Chad Finn Ambassadorship Award Committee with the charge of:

1) selecting an individual recipient for the award who is an outstanding spokesperson for pomology and the fruit industry through exemplary extension, marketing and/or outreach activities and

2) submitting an award recommendation (no more than one per year) to the Executive Board prior to the annual meeting.